From the Collection: Avisail Garcia, OF, White Sox

IMG_0029

Last year I was able to get Avisail Garcia while in Cleveland, at the Hotel. You can ready about that HERE.

I was going through some stuff tonight, and I found this.  I thought I had gotten him once before, but I could not remember when.  Then it hit me.

I got this autograph in 2010, when I was visiting Cleveland.  I have a pretty fond memory of that day.

Me and my wife flew into Cleveland, and landed at 5pm.  We went to my parents apartment in Mentor, and planned to camp out there for the night.  It was terrible.  There was not enough room–we had to share a couch–and worse yet both my parents are smokers.  I don’t know anyone who smokes really, and I never spend any time in houses that have smokers…so it was suffocating.  I could deal with it, but my wife could not.

So at 3 in the morning, sore and tired, we said screw it.  We got in the car and went for a drive.  It was awesome.  Foggy, cool with a full moon.  We found an open Dunkin Doughnuts and I got a coffee and some very tasty raisin bran muffins.  We drove to the beach, and in Kirtland sat in the road while dear crossed.  It was all very surreal.  The sun came up, but we just kept on driving around.  When you live on an island, you miss being able to go in a straight line for so long.

We just drove around until 10am, when the Lake County Captains were having a morning game.  It was against the West Michigan White Caps.  It was the first time me and Susan went to a game together.  It was a small crowd, but we were surrounded my Moms who brought there kids…and they were adorable.  Lots of cheering, lots of laughing.  It was a ton of fun.

And I got this autograph.

Leave a Reply

