Baseball Cards! 1954 Topps #248 Al Smith

resized_IMG_0010 resized_IMG_0012

I have had this card forever, long before I decided to put together all the Topps Indians team sets.

No small part of the love of vintage Topps cards are the classic designs, which at this point are so iconic that even non-collectors know when they see them.  But for me I think its the back of the cards that are really interesting.  Unlike later issues that have the career stats of players (which I love too), these backs are colorful, packed with information, and designed really well.  I would love for this to be the norm again:  less gloss, more names, less copies.

Leave a Reply

