Baseball Cards! 1971 Topps #5 Thurman Munson

resized_IMG_0009

resized_IMG_0011

Thurman Munson’s rookie card was in the 1970 Topps “Rookie Stars” subset, but I think this one is cooler. Horizontal picture with an action photo…there is a lot to like here. I remember buying this card for $4 from a local cardshop back in the 90’s.  I like that this card has been…loved…so I don’t mind the condition.  But man, I can’t imagine trying to collect this set in a high grade; those black borders are next to impossible to keep looking nice.  Considering the price of a Munson autograph, this will have to stand in as the Munson piece in my collection.

Leave a Reply

