From the Field: Kyle Thompson, cf, Northwest Nazarene Baseball

resized_NN_1_Hit

Kyle Thompson Feb 14 v. HPU

resized_IMG_0002

Friday was opening day for the University of Hawaii, who was hosting 14th Ranked Oregon. But there was also a Division II game going on right down the road from me and Hawaii Pacific was taking on Northwest Nazarene.

Division I ball gets all the attention, but to be honest, I really enjoy going to the HPU games more. I love Hans L’Orange Field, and the fact that the games are free and parking is easy is a refreshing plus. The games tend to have a lot more offense, and since you are able to sit so near the dugouts the game is just more intimate. And the players are good too–last season more then a few guys who rolled through Waipahu were drafted.

The Hawaii game was at 6:30, so I swung down the the HPU game first. I only had a little time, but I got the guy I wanted most on the team: CF Kyle Thompson. He was fresh off winning Great Northwest Athletic Conference Player of the Week honors, and has been leading the teams offensive attack so far this season. He is currently hitting .412 with a .488 (!) OBP. He is also 4 for 4 in stolen bases.  I was able to come back and watch a full game on Saturday, though he went 0-4 with a walk

He is a senior, so I am hoping that he keeps up the hitting and gets looked at by some Major League teams scouting department come draft time or as a free agent.

Leave a Reply

