From the Field: Matt Eureste, 3b, Oregon Baseball

lots 384

resized_IMG_0012

The Ducks had a bunch of players that I was looking forward to meeting and getting autographs from, with Matt Eureste at the top of that list.

When I got to reading up on Eureste there were two thing that got me excited:

* He was drafted by the Indians in 2011–40th Round, 1,208th overall out of St. Pius X High School in Houston Texas. That is cool.

* He was a Cape Cod League All-Star in 2014, while playing for the Falmouth Commodores. The Cape is the premier college summer league…so that really says a lot about how talented he is.

Baseball America has had plenty of positive things to say about him as well, noting that he is an above average hitter with the athleticism to play any infield position. With the Cape Cod league success under his belt, and now him starting for the Ducks at the hot corner, I have to think that he will see his draft position jump like crazy when the time comes.

I was thrilled to get his autograph on the first day. This season I have been trying to not bug the guys before the game, so I just asked him if I could get his autograph after the game, and sure enough he came over and signed two cards for me. I try to not be greedy with autographs, and normally one is enough, but I suspect that he is going to have a long career in the game and it will be cool to say I saw him play in Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

