Baseball Cards! 1983 Topps #482 Tony Gwynn Rookie Card

resized_IMG_0027

1983 Topps #482

resized_IMG_0030

1983 Topps #482

When I was collecting cards in the late 90’s this card booked for $40-$60 dollars*.  Obviously, it was out of my price range.  I was able to get this card for $4, shipped.

Gwynn will always have a special place in my collection.  One of my first real autographs was a Gwynn ball that I pulled from one of those Treat boxes that you could get at Walmart.  In case you missed them:  Treat was the manager of the trading card division of Walmart, and had a line of these mystery boxes.  They were little, blue boxes that contained a signed ball.  You did not know who it was until you opened them.  The checklist was OK, but getting a good player was still a tall order.  My mom allowed me to pick out of box–I was in grade school–but the second I pulled out the ball in the car I knew that I got something special.

*I know Beckett Book Values are a joke…I just need something for a frame of reference since I have no idea what people were paying back then.

Leave a Reply

