From the Field: A Whole Bunch of Oklahoma Baseball…

resized_IMG_0001

#39 Chris Shaw, c – is hitting .220 with a .319 OBP.  Very nice guy too.  I actually did not get him when everyone elses did, and he was happy to walk over after warming up the starting pitcher to sign for me.  Super friendly dude.

resized_IMG_0006

#11 Jacob Evans, sp – A very talented pitcher and a legit Major League prospect.  This season he is carrying a 2.00 ERA through 18 innings.  He has a 3-0 record, 3 saves and has stuck out 23 while only walking 5.  Also, he is a Cape Cod alumni would had an excellent campaign there this summer:  28.1 IP, 16 hits allowed with 27 K to only 5 walks.

resized_IMG_0002

#28 Shawn Hunter, rp – Has only pitched 4 innings this season, striking out 6 while walking 1.

resized_IMG_0003

#34 Adam Choplick, rp – When I was reading about the team Choplicks name really jumped out to me.  Though 20 innings he has struck out 25 while walking 16.  Despite the walks, guys are only hitting .229 off him.  He is a very good pitcher who I think is very likely to get drafted at some point.

resized_IMG_0004

#35 Alec Hansen, sp – I was kicking myself this week because I thought that I forgot to get his Alec Hansen’s autograph.  I was very happy to find this page signed in my book tonight.  He is a huge dude–6-foot-7–and has a top notch power arm.  I read that Perfect Game considers him one of the better arms of the 2016 draft class, and he is showing why:  this season he has stuck out 47 while walking 17 in 35 innings.  Opposing batters are only hitting .222 off him.

Leave a Reply

