J.T. Brubaker, rhp, Pittsburgh Pirates

JT Brubaker

I wrote a bunch of letters before I left for the mainland, and if I had to choose just a couple to come back, J.T. Brubaker would have been near the top of my list.

I love Akron–I spent a good portion of my vacation there this year–and was happy to see that a player from the University of Akron was drafted this season in the Top 10 rounds (in this case, 6th Round, 187th overall).

I have had a heck of a time getting his autograph: I wrote to him while he was in college, but never got anything–I was hoping just because the school did not allow autographs  (silly, but whatever).  Then a month or two ago a guy tried getting him for me in-person, but he was not able to get him.  I figured I would try again through the mail, and if that did not work I would just give up…but here we are!

His career has started off very well, with a 3.77 ERA and 1.125 WHIP through 45 innings.   Very solid numbers, and with his size he is projected to only get stronger.  The Pirates, I think, got a steal in the 6th Round and I am excited to see how his career works out.

Year Age AgeDif Tm Lg Lev W L ERA GS IP H BB SO WHIP
2015 21 -0.3 West Virginia NYPL A- 4 4 3.77 10 45.1 43 8 30 1.125
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 8/16/2015.
Leave a Reply

