From the Field: Sean Murphy, c, Oakland Athletics

resized_sean murphy.jpg

One of my favorite autographing trip on my vacation to the mainland was the Vermont River Monsters v. Mahoning Valley/ Scrappers.

Mahoning Valley was an hour and a half drive from where I was staying, but it is totally worth it. The players are easy to get and friendly, the collectors in Mahoning Valley are friendly, and its a cute little stadium as well. Its just a good time. And the bonus for me, at this games, was getting to see the Vermont River Monsters play, a team that I have always liked (being, secretly, a bit of an A’s fan).

So I drive all the way there. Pull into the parking lot, and the skies open up. Its pouring rain. No thunder, but it is coming down like nobodies business. I was…upset. I am touchy about my autographs, and rain getting on stuff makes for smeared autographs, and that is not going to work. Worse, I could not make it back down the next two nights, and its not like I can just wait until they come through again since I live in the middle of the Pacific. But I figured they were going to open the gates…and there is a chance it would slow down…and I had already bought my tickets online a week ago…so I said screw it. I am doing this.

There was a K-Mart across the street, and I went in and bought the biggest umbrella that $14 could afford (which is pretty big), and trucked into the stadium.

I set up by the players entrance, hunkered under my umbrella tent, and sure enough I was able to get guys as they poked their heads out to look at the rain, and then when they eventually got on the field. It never really stopped, and at times it was a pretty hard fall.

It was kind of fun. My mobility was shot, and trying to hand stuff to guys was stupid tough since one hand had to be on my umbrella…but it worked out. I missed a couple guys, but only one autograph got messed up. It was a good day.

Bunch of guys on that team that I liked, so its hard to pick a highlight, but I think Sean Murphy is my favorite.

Drafted in the 3rd round (83rd overall) by the Oakland Athletics in 2016 out of Wright State, he is currently hitting .209/.254/.269.

Year Age AgeDif Tm Lg Lev Aff G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI SB CS BB SO BA OBP SLG OPS
2016 21 0.1 2 Teams 2 Lgs A–Rk OAK 20 70 8 14 1 0 1 4 1 0 7 9 .200 .273 .257 .530
2016 21 1.2 Athletics ARIZ Rk OAK 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000 .000
2016 21 0.0 Vermont NYPL A- OAK 19 67 7 14 1 0 1 4 1 0 7 9 .209 .284 .269 .552
All Levels (1 Season) 20 70 8 14 1 0 1 4 1 0 7 9 .200 .273 .257 .530
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 8/6/2016.
Leave a Reply

